Friday, August 21, 2015

Review and Blog Tour (and giveaway!): Jubilee Manor (Landry Park #2) by Bethany Hagen


Jubilee Manor (Landry Park #2)
by Bethany Hagen
Publisher: Dial/Penguin
Release Date: August 11th 2015
Genre: Dystopian, Young Adult, Romance, Science Fiction
Rate: 5/5 Stars

Synopsis:

The thrilling conclusion to Landry Park is full of love, betrayal, and murder--perfect for fans of Divergent, The Selection, and Pride and Prejudice.

In Landry Park, Madeline turned her back on her elite family, friends, and estate to help the Rootless. Now, in Jubilee Manor, she struggles to bring the Gentry and the Rootless together. But when Gentry heirs—Madeline’s old friends—are murdered, even she begins to think a Rootless is behind it, putting her at odds with the boy she loves and the very people she is trying to lead. If she can’t figure out who is killing her friends and bring them to justice, a violent war will erupt and even more will die—and Madeline’s name, her estate, and all the bonds she’s forged won’t make any difference.

This conclusion to Landry Park, which VOYA dubbed "Gone with the Wind meets The Hunger Games,” is a richly satisfying, addictive read.


First of all I have to say thanks to The Fantastic Flying Book Club for allowing me to read an egalley of this title. Although, I was lucky enough to get to meet the author about 2 weeks before the book was coming out, and was able to get an ARC from her!!  So I actually read the ARC.  And LOVED it!  Before I go on with my review, let me share the picture of me and the author from that Comic-Con again:

She was so cool!  And we had a great conversation about writing, and libraries, and Kansas City!  But anyway, on with the review.

We jumped right back into the story, and learned that even though Madeline's father had been tortured by the Rootless, fed the radioactive material, he was quickly healing, and would soon be pretty close to back to normal.  With her uncle, Jack, she is trying to do what she can to get the Gentry and the Rootless to come to an agreement, a way to settle things in order to move on.  But when the night of one of the first big gatherings of both groups is ruined by finding the body of one of the heirs, Marianne Wilder, finding her murdered, chances for peace seem to be less and less a possibility.  And when another heir is murdered, things look even worse.  

Madeline has heard one of the Rootless seeming to plot something horrible, such as killing the heirs, and she noticed his absence during the finding of the first body, she must decide whether to tell what she knows to the police, or keep it to herself until there is actual proof as her uncle asks.  Yet everything she does seems to be the opposite of what her boyfriend David wants.  So now she must find a way to get the trust built between the Gentry and the Rootless, as well as keep anymore of her friends from being murdered, and figure out if she and David can stay together despite their difference of opinions on the way to do these things.  To make matters better, there might be a cure for the radioactive poisoning!  And Madeline will welcome a new family member, other than her Uncle Jack's family now living in Landry Park.

I love the story.  I got so mad at David throughout the story though.  Even knowing what he ended up knowing at the end of the story, the fact that he kept it from Madeline, well, he deserved the things that she did, since she didn't know.  In the end though, I was happy with how it all went.  Although the Kansas City references weren't quite as many in this second book, I still enjoyed when I read them and recognized them.  So excited to read more from this author, and I highly recommend this series to everyone!


 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg


Follow the Jubilee Manor by Bethany Hagen Blog Tour and don't miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.



Bethany Hagen was born and raised in Kansas City. She grew up reading Charlotte Brontë, Jane Austen, and all things King Arthur, and went on to become a librarian. Landry Park is her debut novel.


US ONLY





4 comments:

  1. While I've not read book 1, I did just order it. It sounds awesome!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I liked both. You should read them and find out! Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  2. Love the covers. These stories sound great! :) Glad you enjoyed it.
    @dino0726 from 
    FictionZeal - Impartial, Straightforward Fiction Book Reviews

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They were great stories, and I loved the local bits in the story. Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete

I love to get comments and I read them all! If you leave a link in your comment, I just might visit you back.