Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Alive by Scott Sigler

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine where we spotlight upcoming releases that we're eagerly awaiting. I've chosen a book by an author that I don't think of with YA normally, but I'm pleased to see one.  I've really enjoyed his Infected series, and was so excited when I got to meet him last summer at BEA.  It looks like a bit of a dystopian type of story, although from the first few lines, I feel like they left out one book for comparison, The Maze Runner.  Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising comes a gripping sci-fi adventure in which a group of teenagers wake up in a mysterious corridor with no knowledge of who they are or how they got trapped. Their only hope lies with an indomitable young woman who must lead them not only to answers but to survival.

“I open my eyes to darkness. Total darkness. I hear my own breathing, but nothing else. I lift my head . . . it thumps against something solid and unmoving. There is a board right in front of my face. No, not a board . . . a lid.”

A teenage girl awakens to find herself trapped in a coffin. She has no idea who she is, where she is, or how she got there. Fighting her way free brings little relief—she discovers only a room lined with caskets and a handful of equally mystified survivors. Beyond their room lies a corridor filled with bones and dust, but no people . . . and no answers.

She knows only one thing about herself—her name, M. Savage, which was engraved on the foot of her coffin—yet she finds herself in charge. She is not the biggest among them, or the boldest, but for some reason the others trust her. Now, if they’re to have any chance, she must get them to trust each other.

Whatever the truth is, she is determined to find it and confront it. If she has to lead, she will make sure they survive. Maybe there’s a way out, a rational explanation, and a fighting chance against the dangers to come. Or maybe a reality they cannot comprehend lies just beyond the next turn. 


I don't know about you, but I think it sounds really good! And I know I enjoyed his writing in the other books I've read, so I can't wait for this one.

So tell me what book or books you are eagerly awaiting this week!! 

33 comments:

  1. I don't usually read Sci-Fi, but this one does sound enticing. Thanks for sharing and enjoy! Here's mine: “THE QUALITY OF SILENCE”

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm very excited about it. Plus, love the other books I've read by the author as well! Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  2. This sounds AMAZING! I have a feeling this book is going to be BIG. Great choice!

    Michelle @ Michelle's Minions

    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope it is. This is an author I think more people need to know about! Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  3. This one is a new one for me but after reading that blurb I AM SOLD! Definitely adding this one to the ever-growing tbr pile :D Thanks Lisa^^ and happy reading! x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Doesn't it sound so good?! Plus, I've loved all the other books I've read by the author, so excited for a YA one. Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  4. I LOVE the sound of the blurb! It does sounds VERY similar to The Maze Runner, though, and I'm a little bit scared that it'll be too similar to both it and The Hunger Games ... but if it becomes it's own story, oh my gosh, it'll be EPIC! *Fingers crossed* it'll be unique and amazing :D Great pick, and I hope we love it!

    My WoW
    Alma @ Journey Through Fiction

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It has been a while since I read The Maze Runner, and I kind of see where they're saying it will be like it, but I feel like it sounds like its own kind of story. Can't wait to read it and find out! Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  5. Wow, love the post and all the delightful reactions. I, too, hope this book is going to be big.

    While the marketers had to put their spin on it, I'll go out on a limb and say it's quite different from THE HUNGER GAMES and THE MAZE RUNNER, and I dig both books. The opening chapter does feel a bit MAZE RUNNER (I wrote the first draft of ALIVE five years ago and hadn't heard of that book at the time) , but stick with it after that and I think you'll dig where it goes.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. First, I'm going to squeal like a fangirl having the author comment on here! :-) Then, I'm going to say that I know first your name made me look at the synopsis, then the comparisons made me more intrigued, but I didn't necessarily get that it would be just like those stories from what I read in the summary. I've got an egalley of this now, and can't wait to get to it! Thanks so much for commenting on my blog!

      Delete
  6. That sounds intense. I'm still stuck back at the coffin part. LOL

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, can't imagine that! Would be freaked out if it happened to me! Definitely not able to probably help anyone else. Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  7. This sure sounds like a totally GRIPPING tale!! What an AWESOME pick! I'm not a "Hunger Games" fan, so I'm glad the author commented that his book is very different from that series.

    I especially like that Sigler has a strong female protagonist! I LOVE reading about girls or women who actually lead, instead of waiting to be "rescued". Lol. So KUDOS to the author for that!!

    This book will be joining my collection as soon I can get it! Meanwhile, I'm adding it to my Goodreads shelves.

    Thanks for sharing!! : )

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Glad it sounds like a good one to you! I love the author's writing, so glad to get more people alerted to his books! Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  8. This does sound like it starts off very much like The Maze Runner! I'd read it! Thanks for sharing. Here's my WOW! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I just saw the author's comment. I'm even more intrigued now!

      Delete
    2. It does sound like the Maze Runner story from that, but also has it's own twist I think. Plus I know how much the author's other books have seemed pretty original to me, so I'm sure I'll love it. And how cool is it that the author commented on my post? I'm squeeing like a fan girl! Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  9. Is it weird it reminds me of the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld? I haven't read sci-fi fantasy in a really long time but jumping back into it with this book sounds good! Thanks for stopping by & sharing this book!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No, and if it does remind you of that, then that is a good thing, right? I loved the Uglies series. :-) Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  10. Oooo. I've not heard of this one, Lisa! I don't think it's my type of read, but I hope you enjoy this book when you read it!

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, I have seen a few that aren't my cup of tea on other blogs, but it's still exciting to see all the new books that everyone else is excited for as well! Thanks for returning the visit!

      Delete
  11. Hmmm... This sounds like it might be a little too similar to some others for my taste. I hope you love it though!

    Here's my WoW!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I always wonder though how much something really is like what the blurbs say. Because most of the time I don't think they are the same. But hey, you never know! Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  12. Hi, Lisa - Your choice sounds like a good read. I just checked fantasticfiction.co.uk and found I, Ripper by Stephen Hunter will be out May 19th. I'd love to read it; will probably scare me half to death. :)
    @dino0726 from 
    FictionZeal - Impartial, Straighforward Fiction Book Reviews

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, the title I, Ripper sounds great! I'll have to check that out as well. Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  13. I am excited for this book too! I have a copy to review from Netgalley, and I am excited to see how it is.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I also have the review copy and can't wait to get to it! Glad someone else is going to be reading along with me. Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  14. I'm starting this one next week, so I hope that It's good. I've not read any of his books before.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've got an egalley, will be reading closer to publishing date. I really like his writing, hope you enjoy it as well!

      Delete
  15. Agree, it does sounds pretty exciting! I'm always up for a good sci-fi (: Hope you enjoy it! Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love the author, so can't wait! Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Delete
  16. This is the first I'm hearing of this one but it sounds like a good read. great pick!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks! Can't wait till I can get to it!

      Delete

I love to get comments and I read them all! If you leave a link in your comment, I just might visit you back.