Wednesday, October 2, 2019

Blog Tour Review with Giveaway: Harbor for the Nightingale (Stranje House #4) by Kathleen Baldwin

Book info:
TitleHarbor for the Nightingale
Author:  Kathleen Baldwin
SeriesStranje House #4
Genre:  YA Historical fiction, alternate history
Release Date:  September 26th, 2019
Publisher:  Ink Lion Books
Source:  E-galley from Rockstar Book Tours which did not influence my opinion
My rating:  5 stars

Synopsis:

Harbor for the Nightingale is the highly anticipated fourth installment in the popular award-winning Stranje House YA series! #1 New York Times best-selling author Meg Cabot calls this romantic Regency adventure series "completely original and totally engrossing."



"Enticing from the first sentence." --New York Times Sunday Book Review on A School for Unusual Girls



"Baldwin has a winning series here: her characters are intriguing and fully rendered." --Booklist, on Refuge for Masterminds



It's 1814. In this alternate history, Napoleon has forced Europe to its knees, and now he plots to seize control of Britain.



Maya brings the mystery of India with her...



With her friends' lives in deadly peril, Miss Maya Barrington, one of Miss Stranje's unusual girls, must serve as a double agent. To do so, she gains entry into Napoleon's duplicitous game on the arm of the enigmatic Lord Kinsworth. She can read almost everyone; not so with this young rascal. Quick with a jest and armed with lethal charm, Kinsworth remains just beyond her reach. Can she trust him?



With Britain's future at risk and those she loves in deadly peril, Maya questions everything she thought she understood about life, love, and loyalty.



Fans of genre-blending, romance, and action will love this speculative history Regency-era novel filled with spunky heroines, handsome young lords, and dastardly villains--fourth in the Stranje House series. Don't miss the first three books: A School for Unusual Girls, Exile for Dreamers, and Refuge for Masterminds



"An outstanding alternative history series entry and a must-have for teen libraries." --School Library Journal on Refuge for Masterminds



"This alternative history series will appeal to fans of Gail Carriger's works and The Cecelia and Kate novels by Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer." --School Library Journal on A School for Unusual Girls





My Review:
I am such a huge fan of this series and had been waiting so long for the next book to come out.  I was not disappointed in this next installment in the story.  In fact, it's left in such a way, that while not a cliffhanger exactly, we're still left needing to know how things will go on.  Even though this is actually a bit of an alternate history, there are still those traces of actual history that make me want to go read the true story to know how exactly things did go in real life.  We've still got all our usual characters, both the good guys and the bad guys.  We do have a new romance this time, of course, and I really like how it played out.  I love this extra sense that Maya had, but it was even more exciting when it seemed as if maybe other people had it as well, ones you might not have imagined.  The royal intrigue was spot on as usual, and the action was a constant character in the story as well.  As I have already said, another great chapter in the Stranje House series, and I am excited for Sera's story next!



Title: REFUGE FOR MASTERMINDS (Stranje House #3)

Author: Kathleen Baldwin

Pub. Date: May 23, 2017

Publisher: Tor Teen

Format: Hardcover, Paperback, eBook

Pages: 352




It’s 1814. Napoleon has escaped his imprisonment on Elba. Britain is at war on four fronts. And at Stranje House, a School for Unusual Girls, five young ladies are secretly being trained for a world of spies, diplomacy, and war…



Napoleon’s invasion of England is underway and someone at Stranje House is sneaking information to his spies. Lady Jane Moore is determined to find out who it is. If anyone can discover the traitor, it is Jane—for, according to headmistress Emma Stranje, Lady Jane is a mastermind.



Jane doesn’t consider herself a mastermind. It’s just that she tends to grasp the facts of a situation quickly, and by doing so, she’s able to devise and implement a sensible course of action. Is Jane enough of a mastermind to save the brash young American inventor Alexander Sinclair, her friends at Stranje House, and possibly England itself?



Title: EXILE FOR DREAMERS (Stranje House #2)

Author: Kathleen Baldwin

Pub. Date: May 24, 2016

Publisher: Tor Teen

Format: Hardcover, Paperback, eBook




A School for Unusual Girls is the first captivating installment in the Stranje House series for young adults by award-winning author Kathleen Baldwin. #1 New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot calls this romantic Regency adventure "completely original and totally engrossing."


Tess can't run far enough or fast enough to escape the prophetic dreams that haunt her. Dreams bring nothing but death and grief, and Tess refuses to accept that she may be destined for the same madness that destroyed her mother. Until her disturbing dreams become the only means of saving Lord Ravencross, the man she loves, and her friends at Stranje House from Lady Daneska and her lover, the Ghost-agent of Napoleon, who has escaped from Elba. Can the young ladies of Stranje House prevail once more? Or is England destined to fall into the hands of the power-mad dictator?


"Enticing from the first sentence." -New York Times Book Review


A School for Unusual Girls is a great next read for fans of Gail Carriger's Finishing School series and Robin LaFevers' His Fair Assassin series. 



Title: A SCHOOL FOR UNUSUAL GIRLS (Stranje House #1)

Author: Kathleen Baldwin

Pub. Date: May 19, 2015

Publisher: Tor Teen

Pages: 352

Formats: Hardcover, Paperback, eBook




It’s 1814. Napoleon is exiled on Elba. Europe is in shambles. Britain is at war on four fronts. And Stranje House, a School for Unusual Girls, has become one of Regency England’s dark little secrets. The daughters of the beau monde who don't fit high society’s constrictive mold are banished to Stranje House to be reformed into marriageable young ladies. Or so their parents think. In truth, Headmistress Emma Stranje, the original unusual girl, has plans for the young ladies—plans that entangle the girls in the dangerous world of spies, diplomacy, and war.


After accidentally setting her father’s stables on fire while performing a scientific experiment, Miss Georgiana Fitzwilliam is sent to Stranje House. But Georgie has no intention of being turned into a simpering, pudding-headed, marriageable miss. She plans to escape as soon as possible—until she meets Lord Sebastian Wyatt. Thrust together in a desperate mission to invent a new invisible ink for the English war effort, Georgie and Sebastian must find a way to work together without losing their heads—or their hearts... 



About Kathleen:
Award-winning author, Kathleen Baldwin, loves adventure in books and in real life. She taught rock climbing in the Rockies, survival camped in the desert, was stalked by a mountain lion, lost an argument with a rattlesnake, enjoyed way too many classes in college, fell in love at least a dozen times, and married her very own hero. Together they’ve raised four free-spirited adventurous children.

SCHOOL FOR UNUSUAL GIRLS is her first historical romance for Young Adults. Awarded 2016 Spirit of Texas, it is also a Junior Library Guild selection. Publisher’s Lunch listed it in 2015 YA BookBuzz. Scholastic licensed it for book fairs. Ian Bryce, producer of Spiderman, Saving Private Ryan, and other notable films optioned the series for film.

#1 New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot calls Kathleen’s romantic Regency adventure, “completely original and totally engrossing.”

WebsiteBlog | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads

 
Giveaway:


  • 1 winner will receive a finished copy of Harbor for the Nightingale.  US Only. 
  a Rafflecopter giveaway



Tour Schedule

Week One:
9/23/2019- Caffeine & Composition- Excerpt
9/24/2019- Dazzled by Books- Excerpt
9/25/2019- Two Chicks on Books- Excerpt
9/26/2019- Wishful Endings- Review
9/27/2019- Fire and Ice- Review 

Week Two:
9/30/2019- Don't Judge, Read- Interview
10/1/2019- Smada's Book Smack- Review
10/2/2019- Lisa Loves Literature- Review
10/3/2019- Book Briefs- Review
10/4/2019- BookHounds YA- Interview

6 comments:

  1. Thank you for the review! I will treasure this one. You made my heart sing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Blushing! Wow! Your comment makes my heart sing, because authors are my rock stars and you are one of my favorite authors! Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on my blog!

      Delete
  2. Awesome review! I think this sounds like an exciting series to read. I love your comment about action being like a character in this book--I love action to keep me turning pages.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. She's such a great author and the stories are so good! You need to try them. Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  3. I have read the first three in the series and absolutely loved them! I am very much looking forward to this next installment, and the next romantic story following on one of the girls. I agree. Even though it is alternative history it always makes me want to look into how it is grounded in history!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think you'll enjoy this one as well. Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete

I love to get comments and I read them all! If you leave a link in your comment, I just might visit you back.