Tuesday, July 24, 2018

Blog Tour Author Interview with Giveaway: Scream All Night by Derek Milman

Book info:


Author: Derek Milman

Pub. Date: July 24, 2018

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Pages: 400

 
-->
  -->Synopsis:

A darkly hilarious contemporary realistic young adult novel about growing up and finding your place in the world, perfect for fans of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl and Running With Scissors.

Dario Heyward knows one thing: He’s never going back to Moldavia Studios, the iconic castle that served as the set, studio, and home to the cast and crew of dozens of cult classic B-horror movies. It’s been three years since Dario’s even seen the place, after getting legally emancipated from his father, the infamous director of Moldavia’s creature features.

But then Dario’s brother invites him home to a mysterious ceremony involving his father and a tribute to his first film—The Curse of the Mummy’s Tongue. Dario swears his homecoming will be a one-time visit. A way for him to get closure on his past—and reunite with Hayley, his first love and costar of Zombie Children of the Harvest Sun, a production fraught with real-life tragedy—and say good-bye for good. But the unthinkable happens—Dario gets sucked back into the twisted world of Moldavia and the horrors, both real and imagined, he’s left there.

With only months to rescue the sinking studio and everyone who has built their lives there, Dario must confront the demons of his past—and the uncertainties of his future. But can he escape the place that’s haunted him his whole life?


Author Interview:

1.  What does your writing process look like? Do you know the whole story when you start?  Or do you just start writing and go with it (seat of the pants writing)?  If you plan it out, how do you do that?  Outline, notecards, post-it-notes, etc.?

I take loose notes in a café in a Postalco notebook by hand (I just love this particular stationery, and they’re hard to find, so the hunt is part of the game). Sometimes I just write nonsense, other times I flesh out ideas I’ve had. I don’t formally outline, but the notes can help me draft, which I do in front of the computer. I need some guidance to go by when the cursor is blinking at me, but I don’t want too much guidance so it feels like homework. E.L. Doctorow described his process as akin to driving in a rainstorm and seeing how far the headlights penetrate the murk. I read that and I was like: ah that’s me.


2. Are you part of a writers group that gets together and helps each other with their writing?

Nope! That’s just not something I have ever needed or wanted—all those voices chiming. I have a few beta readers, but it’s a really tight group of me, one or two people I will show an early draft to for feedback, my agent, and my editor.


3.  How do you come up with your ideas for your stories?

Things people say, casually, in conversation. Traveling. Articles I read. Movies I see. Sometimes lightning strikes when I’m on the elliptical, or during a bout of insomnia. But mostly it’s me with a notebook forcing myself to come up with the skeleton of an idea, and then taking it from there, fleshing it out later.


4.  Do you edit as you go, or wait till you're finished before you edit?  How many times would you say you go over it yourself before having another set of eyes look it over?

I edit as I go. I’m always backtracking and fixing. And I go over it countless times, tweaking endlessly and obsessively, before anyone else sees it.



5.  What are your favorite horror movies?  Do you have any favorite horror authors or books?

Movies: The Exorcist, Rosemary’s Baby, The Shining, The Changeling, The Omen, Suspiria, The Birds, Carrie, It Follows, Psycho, and Alien.

In terms of authors, Stephen King remains the undisputed champion, but I’ve been obsessed with House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski, since I read it many years ago. I think it’s terrifying, and unbelievably original. Joe Hill and Sarah Waters have succeeded in giving me a chill or two, and Perfume: The Story of a Murderer by Patrick Süskind is not strictly horror, but it’s a deeply unsettling novel.

About the Author:
Derek Milman was born in New York City, but grew up in Westchester, NY, where he wrote and published a successful underground humor magazine that caught the attention of the New York Times, who wrote a profile on him at the age of 14.

Derek studied English, Creative Writing, and Theater at Northwestern University. He began his career as a playwright (his first play was staged in New York City when he was just out of college), and earned an MFA in acting at the Yale School of Drama.

Derek has performed on stages across the country, and appeared in numerous TV shows and films, working with two Academy Award winning film directors.
                                                        
Scream All Night is Derek's debut YA novel. He currently lives in Brooklyn where he is hard at work on his next book.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Giveaway:

  • 1 winner will win a signed finished copy of SCREAM ALL NIGHT and swag, US Only.
-->  --> a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:
Week One:
7/16/2018- Sweet Southern HomeExcerpt
7/16/2018- YA Books CentralInterview

7/17/2018- BookHounds YAGuest Post
7/17/2018- Always MeExcerpt

7/18/2018- A Dream Within A DreamReview
7/18/2018- Wonder StruckReview

7/19/2018- Confessions of a YA ReaderReview
7/19/2018- Moonlight RendezvousReview

7/20/2018- Kat’s BooksReview
7/20/2018- RhythmicbooktrovertReview

Week Two:
7/23/2018- The Clever ReaderReview
7/23/2018- Smada's Book SmackReview

7/24/2018- Lisa Loves LiteratureInterview
7/24/2018- THE BOOK NUTReview

7/25/2018- A Gingerly ReviewReview
7/25/2018- Two Chicks on BooksExcerpt

7/26/2018- Daily WaffleInterview
7/26/2018- Don't Judge, ReadInterview

7/27/2018- Two Points of Interest- Spotlight
7/27/2018- Book-KeepingReview
 

4 comments:

  1. It Follows is such an underrated film! I'm glad someone else also appreciates it! I can't wait to read Scream All Night!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I wasn't the biggest fan of It Follows, had some issues with things that happened in it, kind of just silly for me as I watched. This is still one I want to read! Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  2. I have been hearing about how good this book is for a while and I am intrigued by it. It was cool to see an interview with the author and get some insight into their writing process as well.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This sounds like a fun one! Thanks for visiting!

      Delete

I love to get comments and I read them all! If you leave a link in your comment, I just might visit you back.