Monday, July 2, 2018

Blog Tour Author Interview with Giveaway: Chloe Shipton and the Quill of LeFay by Lynn Veevers


Book info:
Title: CHLOE SHIPTON & THE QUILL OF LEFAY
Author: Lynn Veevers
Pub. Date: June 12, 2018
Publisher: Lynn Veevers
Formats: Paperback, eBook
Pages: 263
Find it: GoodreadsAmazon

Synopsis:
When fifteen-year-old Chloe mysteriously disappears, the rumors at Grammaire Hall point to murder, but spiritual entrapment isn’t the same as dead. In a library that’s believed to be nothing more than a myth, Chloe's spirit is separated from her body after witnessing another student's murder. Try as she may she can't remember what happened to her before she woke up as a spirit in the campus graveyard. As Chloe uncovers clues leading to the mythical library's location and her body, a secret the Magical Parliament doesn't want to get out, starts to unravel. Rogue sorcerers have infiltrated the school, intent on reinstating the Third Edict, and sorcery students are dying because of it. Destroyed long ago for horrific crimes against humanity, the return of the Third Edict would spell disaster for both magical and magicless societies. To prevent her own demise and the fulfillment of the Third Edict’s return, Chloe must find a way to reunite body and soul without giving the rogue sorcerers the weapon they need to succeed, a weapon only Chloe can activate.

Author Interview:
1.  What does your writing process look like? Do you know the whole story when you start?  Or do you just start writing and go with it (seat of the pants writing)?  If you plan it out, how do you do that?  Outline, notecards, post-it-notes, etc.?   
I am guilty, completely guilty of letting the characters tell me how the story will go as I am writing it. After they are done with all their exploring I go back and clean up whatever chaotic messes they made.

2. Are you part of a writers group that gets together and helps each other with their writing? 
I am an RWA (Romance Writers of America) member with PAN Status J.

3.  How do you come up with your ideas for your stories? 
I get my ideas from anything and everything. My family can be sitting around the table and talking and a lot of the time as I am listening to there thoughts and speculations on different topics, I think, “That would be a great premise for a book”. Then there are dreams, yeah that is actually a thing.

4.  What tips do you have for aspiring writers?  
Write first, get the story out and then go back and revise! Also beta readers are a gold mine!

5.   What are your favorite:
Books/authors/genres: I have too many favorite books and authors to list but my favorite genres are fantasy, romance and dystopian in the vein of Hunger Games and Divergent.
Movies/TV Shows: Avatar! As for TV shows I loved Stitchers, The Lying Game  and still love Shadow Hunters. I also loved Bones and House.
Music: Country, Southern Rock and Classic Rock
Food/Writing snack: Anything salty! I love tortilla chips


About the Author:

Lynn Veevers is originally from Washington State. With her mother being from Christchurch, New Zealand and her father being a well-traveled retired Navy Chief, Lynn has always had a fascination with different cultures around the world. An avid reader, she prefers books that take her to a place she's never been and teach her something new at the same time. The Young Adult Genre is her absolute favorite to read, so it comes as no surprise that it is also her favorite to write. Lynn, on average, pens two to three novels a year with the sequel to Pinnacle in the publishing process now!

Today Lynn lives with her husband and kids in Southeast Oklahoma. Her young adult and adolescent children are supportive and avid beta readers of her work and give her a straightforward and honest point of view about how authentic her characters voices and personalities are for their age group. What better reference than someone close to the same age as the main character. Her kids always have and always will be her greatest inspiration.

-->
-->Giveaway :
  • One lucky winner will receive a $25Amazon gift card, International.
-->  --> a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:
6/11/2018- Smada's Book SmackExcerpt
6/12/2018- Mythical Books- Interview
6/13/2018- K.L. Knovitzke – AuthorExcerpt
6/14/2018- BookHounds YAGuest Post
6/15/2018- HauntedbybooksGuest Post

Week Two:
6/18/2018- The Desert BibliophileReview
6/19/2018- What the Cat ReadReview
6/20/2018- Tales of the Ravenous ReaderGuest Post
6/21/2018- Writer of WrongsReview
6/22/2018- Novel NoviceExcerpt

Week Three:
6/25/2018- Here's to Happy EndingsExcerpt
6/26/2018- ParajunkeeExcerpt
6/27/2018- Two Chicks on BooksInterview
6/28/2018- Jaime's WorldSpotlight

Week Four:
7/2/2018- Lisa Loves Literature- Interview
7/3/2018- RhythmicBooktrovertSpotlight
7/4/2018- A Court of Coffee and BooksInterview
7/5/2018- A Readers LifeReview
7/6/2018- FUONLYKNEWExcerpt
--> 

10 comments:

  1. Love the artwork on that cover!

    ReplyDelete
  2. A mysterious, mythical library? I'm in..this sounds amazing!!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love a good mystery book. This sounds like it will be a hard one to put down.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks for the introduction to this book.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Hope your latest book outsells J.K. Rowling.

    ReplyDelete

I love to get comments and I read them all! If you leave a link in your comment, I just might visit you back.