Wednesday, July 17, 2019

Lisa's Looking Foward To #23 - July 23rd, 2019

Back to joining up with the Waiting on Wednesday Posts, and the Can't Wait Wednesday posts hosted by Wishful Endings.  This week there are four on my list.

From my ARC list for July 23rd:


The cover is pretty good, and the blurb below makes it sound like a good one as well!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

Rose Montgomery parks her family’s trailer in Fort Glory, Oregon with one goal: to carve out a new life for herself and her little brother, Charlie. They need a fresh start for their family, and she thinks she's finally found it in a town where nobody knows them.

But Rose’s plans come crashing down when, in an instant, Fort Glory disappears and every person in town vanishes into thin air—including Charlie.

Rose and four other teens become trapped in the Fold, a patch of woods caught halfway between the real world and the lost town. In the Fold, a mysterious force suspends the laws of physics, and everyone’s inner darkness has the power to kill.

To survive the Fold, Rose must unravel the clues Charlie sends her from the missing town. And Rose has to find Charlie soon—or he'll be gone forever.


Sound good?  Add to Goodreads HERE



This sounds comparable to The Fault in Our Stars or Five Feet Apart, but includes roller derbies!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

In this heartfelt and emotionally candid contemporary YA, author Jen Malone delves into the life of a teen whose world is brought to an abrupt halt when she learns she’s in dire need of an organ transplant.

Hard-charging and irrepressible eighteen-year-old Amelia Linehan could see a roller derby opponent a mile away—and that’s while crouched down, bent over skates, and zooming around a track at the speed of light. They don’t call her Rolldemort for nothing! What she couldn’t see coming, however, was the unexpected flare-up of a rare liver disorder she was born with. But now it’s the only thing she—and everyone around her—can think about.

With no guarantee of a viable organ transplant, everything Amelia’s been sure of—like her college plans, the mural she’d been commissioned to paint, or the possibility of one day falling in love—has become a huge question mark, threatening to drag her down into a sea of what-ifs she’s desperate to avoid.

Then a friend from the past shows up. With Will, it’s easy to forget about what’s lurking underneath the lightness of their time together. It’s easy to feel alive when all signs point elsewhere. On the other hand, with the odds decidedly not in her favor, Amelia knows this feeling couldn’t last forever. But what can?


Sound good?  Add to Goodreads HERE.


I do enjoy a good plague story, so this one sounds right up my alley!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

A plague, called Wicked, is pulsing through the world; and in its wake, it’s dividing the population into thirds:

The WICKED: Already infected by the droves of Singers, the ultraviolet mosquito-like insects who carry the plague, the Wicked roam the world freely. They don’t want for much—only to maim and dismember you. But don’t worry: They always ask politely first.

The TRUE: The True live in contained, isolated communities. They’re the lucky ones; they found safety from the Singers. And while the threat of the Wicked may not be eliminated, for the True, the threat has certainly been contained…

The VEXED: The Vexed are the truly fortunate ones—they survived the sting of the Singers, leaving them immune. But they’re far from safe. The Vexed hold the key to a cure, and there are those who will do anything to get it.


Sound good?  Add to Goodreads HERE




A story about a teen author, sounds like a good one!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:


Famous teen author Thistle Tate struggles to keep her biggest secret: the real identity of the author of her bestselling books.

Thistle Tate is a glittering wunderkind--only seventeen, and a bestselling author of the wildly successful Lemonade Skies series, with the highly anticipated final book due to publish next year. She has diehard fans across the globe, flashy tours, and steep advances. And now she's finally started to date her best friend and next-door-neighbor, Liam, the only one who knows her deep dark secret: she's not the real author of the Lemonade Skies books.

Thistle's guilt about lying intensifies after she meets the surprisingly charming Oliver, who introduces her to his super-fan little sister--but how can she have friendships based on deception? All she wants is for this last book to be written so she can be done with the ruse for good.

Then with just two weeks left to deliver the manuscript to her agent and editor, a dramatic turn of events puts everything in jeopardy, and Thistle must grapple with her own identity. Is she a victim, a fraudster, or both? On top of that, Liam is increasingly jealous of Thistle's budding friendship with Oliver--a friendship that leaves Thistle more than a little confused about her own heart.

As the book deadline looms closer, the stakes ever higher, a startling family truth comes to light, and it's only a matter of time before something gives--and Thistle's world becomes undone.

For fans of Rainbow Rowell and E. Lockhart, this YA is the perfect summer read for teen bookworms everywhere, with a love triangle, an insider's depiction of the publishing world, and nonstop, page-turning action.


Sound good?  Add to Goodreads HERE.


Final Thoughts:
Have you read any of these yet?  Are they on your TBR?  And hey, while you're here, you should go try to win some of my ARCs from Cleaning Up My TBR Post HERE. The US only giveaway is open till Friday at midnight, and this week I added some 2019 ARCs that can be one of your two choices.

12 comments:

  1. I'm curious about Thistle Tate; one of those books I need to see some reviews for first though, I think.

    -Lauren
    www.shootingstarsmag.net

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. True, it is one that could go either way. Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  2. Be prepared when reading The Arrival of Someday. It was beautiful and touching, but I cried a river

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oooh! All of these books sound interesting! Great picks! Thanks for stopping by!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm definitely looking forward to reading Arrival of Someday, Thistle Tate, and Before I Disappear! I hope you enjoy these books!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope I get them to enjoy as well! Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  5. Before I disappear sounds like a unique page-turner! Wicked sounds lso good! Awesome picks Lisa :)

    Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hopefully I get the chance to read them! Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  6. How We Became Wicked sounds interesting!

    ReplyDelete

I love to get comments and I read them all! If you leave a link in your comment, I just might visit you back.