Sunday, November 11, 2018

Blog Tour Review with Giveaway: The Color of Lies by C.J. Lyons


Book info:

Title:  The Color of Lies

Author:  C.J. Lyons

Publisher: Blink

Release Date: November 6, 2018

Genre: Young Adult -- Contemporary, Mystery, Thriller
Source:  ARC received from publisher which did not influence my review in any way
My rating:  5 stars



Synopsis:



From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author CJ Lyons comes The Color of Lies, a world drenched in color and mystery.

High school senior Ella Cleary has always been good at reading people. Her family has a rare medical condition called synesthesia that scrambles the senses—her Gram Helen sees every sound, and her uncle Joe can literally taste words. Ella’s own synesthesia manifests itself as the ability to see colors that reveal people’s true emotions…until she meets a guy she just can’t read.

Alec is a mystery to Ella, a handsome, enigmatic young journalist who makes her feel normal for the first time in her life. That is, until he reveals the real reason why he sought her out—he wants to learn the truth behind her parents’ deaths, the parents that Ella had always been told died in a fire. Alec turns Ella’s world upside down when he tells her their deaths were definitely not an accident.

After learning her entire life has been a lie, Ella doesn’t know who she can trust or even who she really is. With her adoptive family keeping secrets and the evidence mixing fact and fiction, the only way for Ella to learn the truth about her past is to find a killer.

Perfect for fans of Caroline B. Cooney, Ally Carter, and Jennifer Brown, The Color of Lies blurs the lines between black-and-white facts and the kaleidoscope of reality.



BOOK LINKS








My Review:
I am a big fan of this author's YA books:  Broken  and Watched.  And I am also very intrigued by the whole synesthesia thing.  I even have a really good friend who has the condition.   I remember first reading about synesthesia when I was in college.  Studying to be a science teacher, I had a subscription to Discover magazine, which I would read cover to cover.  That story on people who always thought of certain numbers having a specific color, or sometimes words had a taste to them, that story stuck with me.  This story was a really good one that used a few different types of synesthesia symptoms for characters in a family, since it is considered to be genetic.  I feel like this author with her medical background is able to be very realistic about things like this disorder, the same as she was with the genetic heart defect in Broken.  But we also had at the heart of this story a very good mystery.  To me, this book is right up there with many adult mystery titles that have a medical aspect to them.  It reminds me in a way of the good old fashioned Robin Cook novels.  Less complicated and conspiracy theory-ish, but definitely as good of a mystery with things you know are coming, but don't always see completely until the bad guys begin giving their plots away.  I guess that makes sense since the author does write those same books for adults. In this case I guess my point is that she does this well within the YA genre as well. 

Now I had a few questions about how it all wrapped up, and if there was more faking going on than just identities.  And maybe those things were actually touched upon, but I was at the exciting action point of the book and probably reading faster to get to find out how we could keep both Ella and her friends and family safe.  Other questions I pondered when I had to put the book down to go back to work included wondering if schools have synesthesia as something they might use to put a student on an IEP, or Individualized Education Plan,  so that they could get help from the special education teachers.  Because it seems to me that it could cause some learning environments to not be the best suited in some cases.  At some point I mean to reach out to those types of teachers in my school just to find out for myself about this very topic.

Highly recommended book, one I will be ordering for my school library with future budget money.

About the Author:
New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over forty novels, former pediatric ER doctor CJ Lyons has lived the life she writes about in her cutting edge Thrillers with Heart. 

Two times winner of the International Thriller Writers coveted Thriller Award, CJ has been called a "master within the genre" (Pittsburgh Magazine) and her work has been praised as "breathtakingly fast-paced" and "riveting" (Publishers Weekly) with "characters with beating hearts and three dimensions" (Newsday).

Learn more about CJ's Thrillers with Heart at 
www.CJLyons.net






Giveaway:
Prize: 5 Copies of The Color of Lies by CJ Lyons (USA only)

Starts: 11/5/18

Ends:  11/16/18
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway


Check out the rest of the tour HERE

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love to get comments and I read them all! If you leave a link in your comment, I just might visit you back.