Thursday, December 19, 2019

Blog Tour Review with Excerpt: Recipe for Disaster by Allie York

Review and Excerpt Tour for RECIPE FOR DISASTER by Allie York 
Brought to you by Forever Write PR




Allie York is back but with her first-ever YA novel, Recipe for Disaster. For Aimee, all it took was a misdialed number to bring “Muffin Guy” into her life and a texting relationship that ends up changing her life. Fans of Kasie West and Miranda Kenneally will adore this humorous, angsty wrong number young adult romance. 


Author: Allie York
Release Date: December 12, 2019
Publisher: self-published
Genres: Young Adult
Word Count: 72K
Source: E-galley from Forever Write PR which did not influence my opinion.
My rating: 3.5 stars


Synopsis:

World’s best muffins:

Step 1: Preheat oven to 375
Step 2: cream the butter and sugar until light
Step 3: Add eggs one at a time
Step 4: Forget you have a new phone in a new area code and call a random guy
Step 5: Continue to text random guy until you develop not-so-random feelings

Aimee’s life was stable, normal, and loving; until it wasn’t anymore. In the blink of an eye, she lost her childhood home, her best friend, and her sanity in one swoop.

 
But a misdialed number brings her an unexpected friend and a lot of new feelings.

 
Life is finally looking up and Aimee sets out to live life to the fullest with her newfound friend. That is until...Aimee’s text life and real life collide to ruin everything.



Read Now and Read FREE on Kindle Unlimited


Add to Goodreads here

My Review: 
My first introduction to this author was with the 425 Madison series last year.  This book had some really cute bits to the story, and I enjoyed the back and forth banter through the texting between Aimee and Muffin Guy.  I also loved Sienna, she was a blast and I was so glad that Aimee found her right away, or should I say that Sienna found Aimee?  There was a lot going on in this book.  An ex-best friend that deserted Aimee, a huge move into a smaller home due to some family issues, a flirtatious mix-up phone call and text messages, an overwhelming new best friend, not knowing what to do with her life since she didn’t go right to college after high school, and a guy who tried to get more from her than she wanted to give.  The story itself was a good one, with some new ideas, even if a lot of it was a bit predictable.  I definitely adored both Muffin Guy and the real person he turned out to be for sure, even if at times Aimee wasn’t necessarily someone that I always felt a connection to.

Now, I had some issues with the writing.  I know it was an advanced copy and so some of the errors could be blamed on that, but I had issues with how when she had to move we didn’t get what happened except through tiny bits and pieces in kind of a disorganized way.  Then there was the fact that she would talk about herself in third person, even though the story was in first person.  Normally I don’t have a problem with that, but the way it was done was confusing at first.  The character pointed it out at one point a little ways in, I just wish she’d done that earlier to keep from making it confusing as you began the book.  And, I hated the dogging on Twilight.  Yeah, yeah, I know people don’t like it, but some people don’t like Star Wars either, yet the character was all about that.  It’s my whole mantra of if you don’t like something, don’t spend time hating on it, spend your time on the things you love. 
-->

Excerpt 
Copyright @ Allie York 2019



Muffin Guy: Marry me. Now.


Muffin Guy: Okay that was a little creepy. Sorry. I don’t think I have ever had anyone quote The Dude for me. It’s amazing.


Muffin Guy: I would need to try to muffins before proposing marriage anyway. What if they suck? I think about leaving him hanging, just to see how many texts I can rack up before he gives up, but I can’t.


Aimee: My muffins are world-class. I’m talking good enough for the Queen Amidala and The Emperor or some royalty from this universe. Don’t ever doubt my muffin making abilities. Now let’s talk about that marriage proposal. We can’t base a whole relationship on one cult classic and some Star Wars references. And what if you’re ugly? If he can insult my muffins, I can insult his appearance. It’s only fair.  


Muffin Guy: Touch√©. I already told you how hot I am, so that is absurd. Don’t let the eye thing throw you off, it only adds to my sex appeal. Where can I get one of your muffins? I’m not sure I can take that at face value. I need to do research.



Aimee: Only place you can get my muffins is from me. I need to go get ready for a thing tonight. Have a nice night, Muffin Guy. I know if he keeps texting me, I’ll never get ready for the event, and Dad will kill me. Without Hali to get my hair and makeup done, it will take me an eternity.


Muffin Guy: Date?


Aimee: Only with my family. My life is very boring. So boring that I spend the day texting strangers.

Muffin Guy: Mine too. Have fun tonight. If it gets too boring, shoot me a text. If nothing else, I am good comedic relief.


Read Now and Read FREE on Kindle Unlimited


Author Allie York


Allie is a mom and dog groomer by day. At night she is posted at her laptop writing or reading in a cozy corner. She has a soft spot for gooey romance, over-creamed coffee, and anything cute and furry.













This sales blitz is brought to you by Forever Write PR. For more information, visit our Facebook page! https://www.facebook.com/ForeverWritePR/

2 comments:

  1. You make some really excellent points in your review. I think I'd be confused about the talking in third person about yourself, especially since the author already used the most immediate connective first person POV.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Honestly it really got me thinking I need to get back to my own writing! And I don't mind when characters switch back and forth, if they call attention to the fact that they're doing it instead of just having it stuck in like it is a mistake.

      Delete

I love to get comments and I read them all! If you leave a link in your comment, I just might visit you back.