Monday, January 7, 2019

ARC Review: The Me I Meant to Be by Sophie Jordan

Book info:
TitleThe Me I Meant to Be
Author:  Sophie Jordan
Genre:  YA Contemporary Romance
Release Date:  January 1st, 2019
Publisher:  HMH Teen
Source:  ARC from ALA Convention, which did not influence my opinion in any way
My rating:  5 stars

Synopsis:
Girl Code: Never date a friend’s ex.

Willa Evans has no intention of breaking the code. So what if she’s always secretly loved her next-door neighbor Zach? As her best friend’s boyfriend, he was always off-limits and it needs to stay that way, even though they just broke up. Even though every time she turns around he’s there, tempting her…
 
No keeping secrets from your bestie.

Flor Hidalgo has a lot on her plate: her breakup with Zach, her dad’s new dating life, and her struggling grades. So why can’t she stop thinking about her hot, know-it-all tutor? At least she’s got Willa, her constant in the chaos.
 
Breaking the code breaks friendships.
 
Two friends find themselves tempted by love that defies the rules in this steamy romance perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Simone Elkeles.



My Review:
As soon as I heard about this book, I knew I had to read it.  I have been a fan of the author, Sophie Jordan, for a long time, ever since I read her book, Uninvited.    I've read several other books by her since then, but this was the first YA from her in awhile it seemed.  While visiting the different publisher booths at ALA last summer, when I saw this one I immediately had to ask if they had a copy I could read.  It was one of my unicorn ARCs that I was very happy to take home with me from New Orleans last June.  I didn't get to it as soon as I'd hoped, before release date last week.  But, I was lucky enough that when I did get to it, January 3rd, I had nothing else I had to do that day, and was able to basically just sit and read almost all day long. Which I did, and I finished it in one day.  I could barely put it down to do anything else. The characters were perfect, so realistic in my opinion.  And so much about the story itself.  There was the usual slut-shaming that you see in real life, but what I liked is that the girls, well, Willa at least - especially, called people out about it.  Something that needs to be done.  But it wasn't all just about the romance.  There were friendships to keep up with, both between the girls, Willa and Flor, and then also between Willa and Zach, Flor's ex, but one of Willa's best friends for longer than that.  And it wasn't like their home lives were perfect. Flor had issues with her dad and his new girlfriend.  Willa was dealing with her older sister who had moved home with a baby and major depression.  Then there was a surprise about Flor's tutor towards the end that I didn't see coming. Some hints about his home life had played out on one of their study sessions, and it totally did not go where I was assuming it would go.  A great, emotional read, highly recommended, and one I'll definitely be purchasing for my school library in the future.
 

5 comments:

  1. It's good that when problematic things happen in this novel other characters call each other out about it. And yay for realistic and true characters. I love that you were able to get another book by this author, especially if you enjoyed her other books. Your school library is going to be better off for having it there!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I do love when it is realistic! Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  2. I really enjoyed this book. I like the twofer romance I got, I loved the friends-to-more, I liked all Flor's drama - I was fully engrossed in this story. I did wish more time had been dedicated to the resolution at the end, but overall, it was a great read for me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. True, I would have liked a bit more with the resolution between the two girls at the end, but I did like it a lot! Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  3. I have this book on my TBR and it sounds like I'm really going to enjoy it, especially after reading how you read it in one day. I enjoy emotional reads and friendship stories too.

    ReplyDelete

I love to get comments and I read them all! If you leave a link in your comment, I just might visit you back.