Monday, February 8, 2016

Promo Post: Scarred by Joanne Macgregor

Blurb / Synopsis:

"Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful." 

Seventeen year-old Sloane Munster is trying to reboot her life after a serious car accident left her badly scarred and emotionally traumatized. 

Starting her senior year at a new school, she’s delighted to see Luke Naughton, a swimmer whom she once had a crush on, in the class in front of her. But when he glares back at her with disgust and revulsion, she’s shocked and hurt, and assumes it’s because of her appearance. Despite misunderstandings, the chemistry between them sparks and love grows against a background of guilt, secrets, and mounting tensions at a school where bullying is rife and Sloane is not the most deeply scarred person. 

Sharp with bittersweet humor, Scarred is an intense, beautiful, compelling story of life, death and fighting for love against all the odds. 

Scarred is a great read for fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins and Abbi Glines.

Origin of the story:
 
Scarred is a young adult contemporary romance that seems to be finding significant crossover appeal.

Scars - internal and external, literal and figurative - often find their way into my books. Perhaps because I'm also a psychologist, I'm fascinated by how we are all scarred by our lives. There is simply no way to go through life without being physically and emotionally scarred. But these wounds are not only the trace evidence and reminders of what we have already endured, they also too often influence how we think, feel and behave, and therefore determine who we become.

The protagonist of this story, Sloane Munster, endures a terrible ordeal and is left horribly scarred. It changes the way she sees herself and she is too ready to believe the worst of the world. Preoccupied by the striking scar on her face, she perhaps doesn't see how we are all scarred, and she needs to learn that sometimes the most deeply scarred people carry no external marks.

The idea for this book came to me one night when I was jetlagged and sleepless. What if, I thought, a scarred teen assumes the boy who looks at her with loathing does so because he's repulsed by her appearance. But what if there's a whole other reason for his disgust and dislike? What if these two characters, each scarred in their own way, are uniquely able to heal each other?

That's the crux of this novel. Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful.





Buy Links:

Author Bio:
When not writing books, Joanne Macgregor is a Counselling Psychologist in private practice and deals mainly with victims of crime and trauma. It’s tough work and to combat creeping burnout, she started writing fiction several years ago. Now she consults and writes on alternate days, and in completely different head-spaces and physical environments. Although she lives in the frenetic adrenaline-rush of the big city, Joanne has always been in love with nature, and escapes into the wilds whenever she can. She’s a a Harry Potter fanatic, bakes the best choc-chip cookies on the planet, and is addicted to chilies and bulletproof coffee. She is the author of two other books for Young Adults - Turtle Walk (2011) and Rock Steady (2013), and loves writing about, and for, teens.

My social media links:

GoodReads Linkhttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26844752-scarred?from_search=true&search_version=service

6 comments:

  1. I love the cover and the story sounds really good.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It does sound like a very intense read.

      Delete
  2. This sounds a bit heartbreaking. Hope it has a happy ending. :)
    @dino0726 from 
    FictionZeal - Impartial, Straightforward Fiction Book Reviews

    ReplyDelete
  3. This one vaguely reminds me of the book Cinder and Ella by Kelly Oram which I loved and found to be a favourite read of mine. I am going to have to look into this one because it seems like I could enjoy it just as much...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Well that sounds like a good one too. I'll have to check it out as well! Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete

I love to get comments and I read them all! If you leave a link in your comment, I just might visit you back.