Sunday, September 8, 2019

Blog Tour Review with Author Interview and Giveaway: Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan

Book info:
TitleTiger Queen
Author:  Annie Sullivan
Genre:  YA fantasy, retelling
Release Date:  September 10th, 2019
Publisher:  Blink YA
Source:  Physical ARC from publisher which did not influence my opinion
My rating:  5 stars

Synopsis:

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.



BOOK LINKS








My Review:
If you follow me, you know I love any kind of a retelling, and while I hadn't ever really read The Lady or the Tiger, I know the gist of that story, so it made this work for me.  I love that we once again have a strong female character who is fighting to be her own person.  The characters really had a lot going on, lots of good background stories that really tied in to wrap the whole story together.  Each little history for the characters brought it all in to make the ending and the way things wrapped up perfect.  The fight that you knew had to come at the end was different than it was originally planned or even how you thought it would be as the story progressed. But it wasn't just an easy win for her, an all of a sudden it just is easy for her, she's suddenly better than Rodric after her short time training with Cion.  It was still a hard fight, and she had to use the things she'd learned, but also apply them to new situations or things as they happened in the moment.  

The setting was beautiful, the whole story was beautifully told and imagined, and I look forward to reading more by this author in the future!


Author Interview:
1.    So far the stories I've read from you are retellings.  What are some stories that you'd either like to do retellings on in the future, would like to see someone else do a retelling of, or that you feel do not need any more retellings? 
I love retellings and could probably never get enough. I have a few more retellings in the works. Nothing I can talk about right now. Some are very classic stories, but some are a little more off the beaten path. Honestly, one of the few I HAVEN’T written a retelling of is Beauty and the Beast. I think I just love that story so much that I’m not sure that I could retell in a new way. But who knows! Maybe someday I will.

2.    I am an aspiring writer myself, and so I always wonder if authors edit as they go or wait till they finish before editing.  How many times would you say you go over it yourself before you are ready to have another set of eyes look it over? 
I do edit as I go along. If something changes, I cannot move forward until I’ve gone back and changed everything that might have been affected by that change. I need everything before where I’m currently writing to be pristine before I move forward. So typically, once I finish a draft, it goes straight to my beta readers because it’s a clean copy with nothing left to change.

3.    Are you part of a writers group that gets together and helps each other with their writing? 
No, I’m not. I found it hard to find one that did full length novels, and I’ve never been a fan of reading chapters at a time. I like discussing an entire book so I can give feedback on character arcs and things that are only visible when you read the novel altogether instead of spread out over months or years. I do know writers who love these groups though, so don’t discount them. They may work for you!

4.    Where is your ideal place to write?  Do you have an office or do you like to go sit in a coffee shop/library, etc? 
Ha! I do most of my writing from either my bed or my couch. In my house, I have a library (aka an extra bedroom that I just covered with bookshelves) that I put a desk in specifically for writing. I’ve maybe used it twice in 2 years for writing. I guess I just like being really comfy when I’m writing.

5.  Some fun questions:

Gryffindor, Hufflepuff, Ravenclaw, or Slytherin? Gryffindor all the way!!!
Lannister, Stark, or Targaryen? So full confession, I read the books years ago when they were coming out, but I never watched the TV show. So I know enough to discuss them, but I don’t know where they all ended up in the show. So I don’t want to pick one without knowing that!
Captain Kirk or Captain Picard? Can…can I pick Captain Kirk played by Chris Pine? If not, then Captain Picard!
DC or Marvel? Marvel.
Physical book, ebook, or audiobook? Physical book!!!!!!!! 


About the Author:

Annie Sullivan is a Young Adult author from Indianapolis, Indiana. Her work has been featured in Curly Red Stories and Punchnels. She loves fairytales, everything Jane Austen, and traveling and exploring new cultures. When she’s not off on her own adventures, she’s teaching classes at the Indiana Writers Center and working as the Copy Specialist at John Wiley and Sons, Inc. publishing company, having also worked there in Editorial and Publicity roles. You can follow her adventures on Twitter and Instagram (@annsulliva).





Giveaway:

Prize: Tiger Queen poster and signed bookplate (USA only)

Starts: 9/4/19

Ends:  9/13/19

   a Rafflecopter giveaway



TOUR SCHEDULE


 

6 comments:

  1. This book sounds so good! I've not read the source story either, but I think that's better for me honestly. Going in blind usually works better! I am definitely going to be reading this one, I have seen a ton of love for it. Fun interview too!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You need to pick it up, it's so good! Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  2. I read this author's debut book and enjoyed her retelling of King Midas. I've never heard of The Lady or the Tiger before, so that will make this even more fun to read. I enjoy stories with twist and turns. I'm happy to read in your review that you really enjoyed this book.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Agreed, I really liked her first book as well! Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  3. I am a huge fan of retellings as well! I love me a good strong character and also all the wonderful fight scenes and build up. That cover is just so gorgeous as well. I am so reading this at some point!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you get to it soon and enjoy it as much as I did. Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete

I love to get comments and I read them all! If you leave a link in your comment, I just might visit you back.